FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

'My Drawings' by Scott Randell

flyfamilyguy
Hey all!
I am a wanna-be artist sometimes. Meaning that I only get the itch to draw very infrequently. I have to have a lot of time on my hands (of which I rarely get). And then there is the, "MUST HAVE INSPIRATION" factor of which seldom comes. So I don't have much work. In fact what you see is really my ONLY works! Well.,other than the occasional child hood drawings of rocket ships, and airplanes. My father was an artist (not professional.), but he did do some work for profit on a couple of occasions when I was young. I guess that's where I got my aspirations.
I have only really ever been interested in attempts at realistic art. ('Realism') As opposed to 'Abstract' art. People are my subjects of interest when I draw, and I am obsessed with trying to make things look as real as can be on paper. I have failed in that respect, but I still kinda like the results! Smile
The following are 'Life size' drawings on charcoal paper, and not finished. (Probably never will be)

This first one is a 'Self-Portrait' I did using a photograph of, well.,ME of course! Circa 1980's. Using charcoal sticks, and cotton swabs for blending. You will notice the exaggerated eye. This was an accident due to my obsession with trying to give eyes that real, translucent look.

This is a drawing, again done with charcoal/cotton swab of 'Kid Rock'.

This one was my first attempt at using color (Colored Pencil), and a 'Cross Hatching' technique. This is an unfinished portrait of my friends daughter.

And lastly, 'The King' himself, Elvis Presley! This was an experiment with 'Pastel' mixed with charcoal. I didn't like it, so it was never completed.

It would be SO awesome to actually find someone who related to, and admired my technique! THAT would be all the inspiration needed! CYA! Wink
truespeed