You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How do I make a template?

Ok guys! I know how to use photoshop, and also flash(though it won't be of much relevance here), but I have no knowledge about making templates.. I mean I have made banners for people and al that, but how do I make a template?? a template that I can apply to all the pages of a website, and then just feed in the matter..

Do I have to use CSS or something?? I don't want to learn any new coding language... i'm fed up of all that, I think that to make templates, I wouldnt need to learn any language, but i'm not sure... If I do have to then please mention that too..

thanks in advance!
{name here}
Content management systems typically use a coding language, unfortunately: PHP, ASP, Python or something like those. If you want to code a template for something like Drupal or Joomla, you'll have to refer to their respective documentations.

HTML will be unavoidable, and CSS is optional.

But, you can avoid that by using SHTML to code templates. It's much less easy to make changes in an SHTML system since you can't make a login panel to edit the things but it gets the job done.

1. Use HTML to code your template. Keep it on one page so that you can test your design. If there are any links to images or anything, make sure they are absolute so you can put pages wherever you want them while keeping all the template components in one easy directory (Use "/folder/file.file" instead of "./folder/file.file")
2. Once you complete your template, break it apart into several pages. Put everything from the beginning of the code to the top tag of where your content wrapper starts in one area, and everything from your content wrapper ends (the ending tag,be it a </div> or a </td>) to the end of the document. DON'T CLOSE THE OPEN TAGS.