FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Linux (w/parallel WIN OS) vs WIN vs Mac (w/parallel WIN OS)

killianvillian
I am about to start pricing and planning a computer shift. I have a Windows, and only really feel comfortable with it, compared to when i sit in front of a mac. I have no experience with a linux.

BUt the more i hear about a virtual WIN OS's running on Linux platforms and on Mac platforms, I think it seems kind of backwards to setup anything but a Linux or a Mac and run windows on it.

Aside from comparing Linux version Mac, what are the comparisons of a WINDOWS OS vs. Linux WINDOWS OS vs. Mac WINDOWS OS.

Is there a big difference between them?
tocapa
Well, if you're not comfortable in front of a Mac, then you certainly won't be in front of any Linux distro. That being said, I think just because you don't feel comfortable now doesn't mean you won't get used to it; I mean, obviously if you just switched you wouldn't get the hang of it right off the bat (I didn't and I consider myself pretty good with computers).

What it really comes down to, though, is do you really need Mac OS X or Linux? Chances are unless you're either big on computer graphics or audio and video editing, you'll do perfectly fine with a Windows machine. Linux, on the other hand, is best for people like me, who understand computers better than the average user. Much as I hate Windows, it is perfectly fine for most people, as long as they understand how to be safe.

Another thing to consider about a Mac is that they are much more expensive than equivalent Windows machines; in addition, if you want to install Windows you have to have a copy of it for yourself, which may mean having to buy one. While personally I think Macs are great, I can't just sit here and blindly tell everyone to get one.
ocalhoun
Running a virtual machine will be slower than a physical windows installation.