FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Battle for Agincourt

noidea
How many people would class this as the best battle in English history?
England severly outnumbered and outclassed beat the French (highly due to their skilled longbow and weather conditions)
deanhills
noidea wrote:
How many people would class this as the best battle in English history?
England severly outnumbered and outclassed beat the French (highly due to their skilled longbow and weather conditions)

It is not a battle I am familiar with. Can you tell us a little more about it? Where, when, how, etc.?
amgoodwater
I'm not an expert on English battles, but the English definitely decimated the French at Agincourt. By the standards of the day, they fought dirty with their longbows while the French stuck to their code of chivalry. Shakespeare's Henry IV gives an interesting account (although completely pro-English of course) of the battle. Lawrence Olivier produced a film version around another difficult time for England (WWII) and it is very pro-English also. The Kenneth Branagh version is also very good.
amgoodwater
Ooops--the play was Henry V.
ptfrances
If I remember well, Augincourt is in north of France and it's a really small village. This battle is not really famous in France because it's quite old now.
Bikerman
ptfrances wrote:
If I remember well, Augincourt is in north of France and it's a really small village. This battle is not really famous in France because it's quite old now.

LOL...I think not. The reason it is not famous in France is because they lost. Joan of Arc dates from the same period - is she famous in France?