FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Raising a puppy

Idoru
The smallest playful, adoreble little creature, a puppy. We just became the owners of a little one, nine weeks old.
She is just wonderful, a mixed breed, mainly Bichon Fraise and Lhasa Apso. There will be pictures of her later. Smile
Anyhow, besides from beeing cute, they take some work, the dogs-to-be. I have some experience of dogs and
training them since before, and some of you migth recognize me from earlier discussions here. Anyhow,
This post I started since there never can be to much advise on how to raise the little ones. What's the best
way of housebreaking? How to train away the constante biting? At what age should one stop just bounding,
and bring more rules in to the puppys life? etc, etc.

I haven't brought up a puppy in a long time, and theorys change about what's the best, so I want to hear all
your opinions! General as specific.
jwellsy
I am a firm believer in crate training. Every night the dog has to sleep in the crate.

Use simple consistant verbal and hand commands. Don't talk to them in sentences.

Even as a pup don't let them fool you with avoidance behaiviors.

Get her spayed as soon as possible.
bigt
jwellsy wrote:
I am a firm believer in crate training. Every night the dog has to sleep in the crate.

Use simple consistant verbal and hand commands. Don't talk to them in sentences.

Even as a pup don't let them fool you with avoidance behaiviors.

Get her spayed as soon as possible.

We weren't strict on the crate training. The crate was probably a little large for our miniature schnauzer, but she got the idea. The crate was put in the kitchen or bathroom b/c those areas were big enough for the crate, bowls, pee pads and they were not carpeted Smile Pee pads and no carpet are great when house training.