FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Email Validation

Dennise
I've come across the following script to check for a valid email address:

if(!$visitormail == "" && (!strstr($visitormail,"@") || !strstr($visitormail,".")))

1. Can someone please explain how the first check works: !$visitormail == "" I'm new to PHP and don't understand this check.

2. Actually, I don't think the whole check is very robust. Can someone please suggest a better script for more thoroughly validating an email address?

Thanks Smile
Arnie
Code:
if (!$visitormail == "")
means if the variable $visitormail is not empty...
The ! is a negation.

Do you know what the && and || are about?
Dennise
Arnie wrote:
Code:
if (!$visitormail == "")
means if the variable $visitormail is not empty...
The ! is a negation.

Do you know what the && and || are about?

Arnie,

&& means AND
|| means OR

So for the complete test:if(!$visitormail == "" && (!strstr($visitormail,"@") || !strstr($visitormail,".")))

I think it means:

if $visitormail is NOT empty AND $visitormail does NOT contain the @ character
OR if $visitormail does NOT contain a .

Then the check fails.

But this check doesn't make sense to me.

I think the intent of the script is this:

if $visitormail is empty OR $visitormail does NOT contain the @ character
OR $visitormail does NOT contain a .

Then the check fails.

So, I think the script contains an error. I also think the script, even if corrected, doesn't do a very good job of validating an email address.

Comments?
kv
It just checks if the given email is not null and contains a "@" and ".", the bare minimum check for a email address. Here is a better alternative:

Code:

//Set a regular expression for email address

$pattern = '/^([a-z0-9])(([-a-z0-9._])*([a-z0-9]))*\@([a-z0-9])(([a-z0-9-])*([a-z0-9]))+(\.([a-z0-9])([-a-z0-9_-])?([a-z0-9])+)+$/i';

//use preg_match to validate