FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Boot loader

Chris65536
No idea where to stick this... Confused

Anywho: the default bootloader that comes with Ubuntu seems to be doing something odd. On a dual-boot PC, I have Ubuntu and Vista.

The thing is that I have 3 copies of all the boot options of Ubuntu (not 3 options: 3 copies of Ubuntu and Recovery Mode, or whatever it's called), and 2 listings of Vista.

So... ideas to fix? Razz

And I'm sorry that I can't tell you what boot program it's called. I don't know. I'm a Linux noob: I only found out about sudo last week!
RiCtee
It's called GRUB. You can easily edit the list by using the command "sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst". Here you can change all the options. It should be self-explanatory and the comments are quite simple to understand. For example my Ubuntu and Windows XP dual boot:
Quote:
## ## End Default Options ##

title Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.27-7-generic
uuid 1f15ee53-d976-43cd-97e2-f8ec4a2a1976
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27-7-generic root=UUID=1f15ee53-d976-43cd-97e2-f8ec4a2a1976 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-7-generic
quiet

title Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.27-7-generic (recovery mode)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27-7-generic root=UUID=1f15ee53-d976-43cd-97e2-f8ec4a2a1976 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-7-generic

title Ubuntu 8.10, memtest86+
kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
quiet

### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

# This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
# ones.
title Other operating systems:
root

# This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
# on /dev/sda1
title Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root (hd0,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1

You can remove those entries by simply deleting those lines.