FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Wireless Connection XP and Vista

wumingsden
Okay. So I need help. I'm not good with networking ... at all!

So, I have a wireless routher (Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter).

Wireless connected to this is my ....
XP SP3 PC (using Phillips SNU5600 54Mbps 802.11b/g Wireless USB Adapter),
my Vista Laptop
brothers Vista laptop
iPhone

All of them are definitly using the router for internet access, that I know. However, I'd like them to be networked so my printer (installed on the PC), can be used by both laptops.
I'd also like to be able to share files over the network between (at least) my PC and my laptop.

I've installed an XP microsoft update which allows vista to see XP computers.

And allowed file and printer sharing.

But I honestly have no idea what to do.

At the moment I'm using Orb which is installed on the PC to access media files over the net (and important documents). But I'd much prefer to have a proper network up-and-running.

Can anybody provide step-by-step instructions as to what to do?

Thank you in advance.
mathiaus
Hi Wum Smile

I'm going to recommend putting all of the computers onto the same workgroup. I'm not lucky enough to have an iPhone so I can't help with that though sorry [/jealousy]

These steps are pretty much the same for both XP and Vista;
Right click 'My Computer' and go to Properties. Go the computer name section and change settings.
Where it says to rename or add to a domain or workgroup, click the change button.
Name each PC uniquely and choose a workgoup name for them all to use. Reboot
Now, once they are all in, go to 'My Network Places' (Network on Vista), and you should start to see the other computers showing up with the names you just specified.