FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Australia screwed? Try South Africa!

niixen
How is a country this wrecked supposed to host a world cup? I'm a cop, I should know Evil or Very Mad
ocalhoun
As well as they can...
Either way, they can't loose:
If it goes well, the people who visit will leave thinking that Africa isn't so bad after all, then you get more tourism and foreign investment.
If it goes poorly, it will raise awareness of the situation, and make getting help more likely.
truespeed
Didn't they hold the Rugby world cup in 1995 without any problems? Are things there worse now than they were then?
deanhills
ocalhoun wrote:
As well as they can...
Either way, they can't loose:
If it goes well, the people who visit will leave thinking that Africa isn't so bad after all, then you get more tourism and foreign investment.
If it goes poorly, it will raise awareness of the situation, and make getting help more likely.

Right on Ocalhoun, and by the way you are right, it is not as bad as it sounds. I have visited South Africa a few times this year. Security is a challenge, but you can see the effort to deal with this every where, and specifically at the airport. Security has been increased every where. Politics are going through some challenges, i.e. a power struggle in the ANC, but compared with other countries in Africa, all of this is done mostly peacefully. Violent crime is there, but has been there for centuries. I felt completely secure in the Hotels and Bed and Breakfasts I stayed at. There is safe transportation every where in Johannesburg. Once you are focussed on safety and security, you should be more than OK. It is still a very beautiful country with fantastic people.